Wisdom from a fictional cat

Alice asked the Cheshire Cat, who was sitting in a tree, “What road do I take?”

The cat asked, “Where do you want to go?”

“I don’t know,” Alice answered.

“Then,” said the cat, “it really doesn’t matter, does it?”

And this, friends, is my conundrum. Commitment to one path, one goal, one outcome is unfathomable. Not when I’m exposed to some other facet of life every day. And also not when I believe that I’ll end up wherever I’m supposed to be regardless of the path I take.

Admittedly, I feel incredibly flaky when asked “what do you plan to do after grad school?” or “what do you want to do with your degree?” or “what’s next?”  and my answer is obviously not fully thought through. I’ve stopped trying to be even partially truthful, just whatever comes out of my mouth first and sounds interesting. It’s not that I don’t want to do any of these things or am not capable of doing any of these things; I guess I just realize that I’m being led to my destination, whatever that destination may be. Not to mention that once I get there, I may find myself being led to yet another destination.

It seems that where I want to go is secondary. What’s most important is just going, no matter which road you take.

Leave a Reply

